Subtle Shifts Part 2: Timing

 

 

This can be similarly true about subtle shifts in timing.  When you press the shutter, especially when photographing people can make a huge difference.  Not long ago Meredith and I visited the Little Bighorn Battlefield National Memorial in Southwestern Montana.  I liked the bleak setting and vanishing point of the road, but the woman and child were more problematic.  I shot the first frame even though I knew it wasn’t perfect, just in case the girl ran off or something else suddenly changed.  Then, in the second frame, I noticed the play of their shadows, but the relationship of their actual bodies wasn’t very interesting.  Finally, the girl stepped left, and both the shadows and the people clicked in a perfect “moment.”  Especially with people, it pays to just keep shooting.

Photo 1

Photo 2

Photo 3

